Tigernet logo
Getimage id708


File under: 
Pop/Rock  ›  Folk  ›  Indie




Catalog number: 


Release date: 



Consisting of Norwegian songwriter Tuva Hellum Marschhäuser and British musician Simon Would, Tuvaband burst on to the independent music scene in the autumn of 2016 with their self-released double A single - Unknown / Running.

The songs received international recognition and over 10 million streams on Spotify.

The 5 brand new track EP 'Mess' was composed, recorded and self-produced by the duo, in two apartments across the Norwegian capital of Oslo.

These beautifully crafted songs capture the same stripped-back sound which has become synonymous with Tuvaband.

Blending lo-fi production, vocal layering and reverb-drenched guitars to create a raw and organic sound influenced by Bon Iver's debut album - For Emma, Forever Ago.

The lyrics uncover a deeper meaning to the songs, with the EP constructed in a way as a story, which evolves as the EP progresses.

The EP begins with title track 'Mess', focused around an acoustic guitar and the delicate intimacy of Tuva's vocals. The song was written at the duo’s first practice together in early 2014. The lyrics capture the contradiction of breaking the cycle of a long-term trauma. Breaking out of this cycle can feel unknown and even more unpredictable than the actual trauma.

The theme progresses with 'Eventually Silence' which deals with the aftermath of the trauma. Having dealt with the personal trauma, the shift is towards the world around you, as captured in latest single ‘Trees' and the final two songs ‘She’s Nothing Like a Child’ and ‘Outro’.


1. Mess
2. Eventually Silence
3. Trees
4. She's Nothing Like A Child
5. Unknown
6. (It's Not About) Running
7. Everything We Do Is Wrong
8. Outro